Deja Vu

This happened last year. I told myself I was going to run 4 miles the next day. The next day came, and I didn’t want to go because it was drizzly out and I HATE running in the rain. Then I went to Facebook and was reminded that all my friends were running the Cleveland half marathon that day and if they could run 13.1, I could certainly go run 4.  This year, I didn’t even have the pathetic “it’s drizzly out” excuse. It’s a *gorgeous* day out. But, once again, the reminder that friends were running 13.1 got me out of the house. Also, I figured sitting on my butt was never going to get me looking like all those pictures I pin on my Pinterest board.

Next year, I need to be running WITH them, instead of using them as motivation to get out of the house.

I also took Bentley with me. The little guy is such a trooper! We stopped halfway so I could get him some water and make sure he didn’t overheat, but I think he handled the run far better than I did.  Interestingly enough, it really felt like the return trip went way faster than the trip out to the turnaround point.

On a somewhat related note, I’m rather unhappy with my numbers. Going to try and track my food more closely for the next month to see if I’m overlooking something.  Seems I was doing better when doing the slow carb diet with cheat days rather than trying to stick to stricter paleo.  But I’m going to stick with the stricter paleo until vacation to give it more time.  If I’m not seeing the results I want by then, I’m going back to slow carb and cheat days.  I know eating half a box of Swiss Cake Rolls in one sitting is not good for me, but if doing that once a week gets me results, when being “good” doesn’t, well, results are what I’m after. And this is why measuring things is *SO* important!  If I hadn’t been keeping track and writing notes, I wouldn’t have been able to go back and realize that one diet seemed to be working better for me than another.  What gets measured gets improved!

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

