Falling into a Rut

Autumn Waterfall

I have a love/hate relationship with this time of year.  It’s Fall where I’m from.  The weather changes. There’s this odd excitement.  The air is crisp. The season promises so much to me. Things I love about Fall:

  • Weather conducive to hiking
  • Better running weather; cooler and not as humid
  • Great weather for knitting and crochet
  • Leaves changing colors
  • Football
  • Blankets and hot cocoa on a slightly chilly day
  • Apples
  • Riding lessons are easier because the horses are peppier in the cooler weather, so it’s easier to get them moving forward
  • Comfort foods like soups and pot roasts and other such yummy comestibles that are too “hot” to cook during summer
  • Baking and the house smelling of cookies and spices
  • Sweaters/Hoodies
  • Not having to shave my legs as often :p
  • All the bugs die
  • Halloween: dressing up is so much fun!
  • My birthday at the end of October!

The problem I have with Fall is that it makes me want to *DO* things. I want to constantly be doing ALL THE THINGS! And then I usually get really frustrated with myself, sometimes rather melancholy and occasionally even depressed when I don’t do everything I tell myself I “should” be doing.

Frolicking in the woods

Just the other day I was thinking of trips I want to take. There are (currently) 3 major ones: Brasil (at least two weeks visiting family. I haven’t been there in over 16 years at this point), Hawaii (at the *very* least one week, but two would be better since I want to visit at least two islands) and my dream trip to Africa (Jumping into Devil’s Pool at Victoria Falls, going on Safari, summiting Kilimanjaro, visiting Madagascar, relaxing in Seychelles… I’ll need at LEAST a month).  Oh, and going to Australia and New Zealand.  Oh, and Fiji too! And I have yet to see the Grand Canyon or Yellowstone. And I still have 26 high points to bag. The travel bug bites harder at this time of year for some reason.

Leaves covering the ground

I should do more hiking! The weather is gorgeous! And I should go apple picking and go through a corn maze! I should bake some cookies! Make some baked good with pumpkin in it! Maybe I should go camping! I should make a trip to New England to go camping and hiking and see the lovely fall foliage at peak season! I should build Bentley a dog agility course in the backyard! I should build a fire pit in the backyard and roast marshmallows! I should go somewhere dark with lots of warm fleece blankies and a thermos full of hot cocoa and do some star gazing!

Hot Cocoa

So cozy! (Photo credit: wine me up)

So Fall is wonderful, but it also drives me crazy. It always leaves me wanting so much more. And being lazy by nature, I’ll end up taking a 3 hour nap on Saturday afternoon instead of going out for a hike or working on my latest yarn project and I wake up hating myself for it. Lather, rinse, repeat the following weekend. Even though I *KNOW* that I’ll be happier and fell better about myself and sleep better at night if I do pretty much anything other than take a long nap, when that weekend rolls around, lazy wins more often than not.

Nap Time

How I end up spending my weekends (Photo credit: Arc-light)

I’m hoping that by writing this here it will help keep me accountable. I am cognizant of where I fall short, so hopefully I can take steps to prevent slacking because now I know.

Knowing is half the battle

This entry was posted in Be Happy, Don't Ignore Your Dreams and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

