Lack of Consistency

Ok, I haven’t been quite *that* bad. However. Not being consistent has cost me.  A LOT. Went to the gym the other day.  The workout looked just awful.
100 squats
80 situps
60 pullups
40 burpees
20 box jumps
10 wall walks
5 rope climbs

I used a band for the pull ups, can only get about halfway up with the wall walks and did 3 pulls on the rope for each “climb” since my grip was completely shot from the pullups.  Took me 30 minutes even to do the whole workout.

But back to consistency, or rather, the lack thereof. Doing this workout with me was someone who has been going to this gym for awhile, but not CrossFitting as long as I have. It used  to be that I could “beat” her at pretty much every WoD with no problem.

She completely kicked my ass.  She lifted more, used fewer modifications during the WoD and finished light years faster than me. And the thing was, I *TOTALLY* deserved it.  I haven’t been consistent at all about my workouts.  If I had been, I probably could have done the whole thing RX’ed (no modifications) in a somewhat decent time. But I’ve been slacking, and it shows. It *REALLY* shows. While I do travel a lot and it makes it hard to stay consistent, that’s just an excuse, and hardly a valid one.

And getting my ass handed to me by people I used to be “better” than has happened a few times again since then. This was not an isolated incident. And I’m obviously not any better than they are, because if I had been, I wouldn’t have missed so many workouts. I’ve been consistently inconsistent about working out.

I think one of the things that sucks the most is that I can’t do a pull-up anymore.  I used to be able to. Yeah, I took 2 months off to let my shoulder heal, but after that, I slacked off a whole bunch and didn’t really get back into it like I should have.  And it shows. And it sucks. And I HATE it.

So I’m making a concerted effort to be more consistent. (If any of my coaches/gym mates read this, feel free to yell at me if you haven’t seen me at the gym (or my name up on the board/beyond the whiteboard) after a day or two. I know only I can make myself go to the gym, but a little peer pressure helps.)  I need to focus, and I need to remember that consistency is what is going to get me to my goals. (The trick will be to balance not over-doing it then injuring myself and suffering another setback, with slacking completely because I don’t wanna get out of bed and think that “I’m tired” is a valid excuse for taking a 3rd rest day in a row.)

This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

