The CrossFit Open

The Reebok CrossFit Games Open

The CrossFit Open starts today. I love that they let *EVERYONE* compete for a spot. You don’t need a sponsor, you don’t need to be “found” by some talent coach.

I’ve competed the past two years.  In 2011, I was disqualified in the second or third WoD because I couldn’t clean the prescribed weight.  Last year, I managed to get some reps in every single workout, but I wasn’t able to get the chest to bar pullups in the last WoD, so I only got 3 reps on that one.  I was so proud that I managed to do 3 (or was it 6) snatches at the heavier weight in the snatch WoD.  I progressed *REALLY* far last year. It was awesome.

CrossFit Oakland

And then my shoulder started hurting.

And that time of year is once again upon us. I had hoped to have shoulder surgery earlier in the year, so that I would have had time to recover and start training for the Games.  I’d calculated exactly where I stood in the rankings last year, based on ALL who registered, and also based on just those who finished all the workouts.  My goal was to beat my standings.  I was going to get that chest to bar pullup this time. I was going to be able to do unbroken double unders.

Accurate.

I’m not even cleared to clean more than a training bar. How can I possibly compete? But maybe the extra rush will push me to be better about healing. I used the shoulder thing as an excuse a lot. I lost sight of my goal. But I also don’t want to push it too much and suffer a setback. I’ve had way too many of those as it is.

So do I register? Do I go for it, even if it means only getting one rep (if that) in some of the WoDs?

This entry was posted in Don't Ignore Your Dreams, Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

