Broiled Grapefruit

So I’ve been seeing that broiled grapefruit makes a good snack, so I thought I’d try it. Plus, I’d never used a broiler before in my life, and figured it was a good excuse to learn. No time like the present, right? The basic idea is that you put some sugar/agave/honey/sweetener of your choice on a grapefruit then stick it under the broiler till it caramelizes.

First, I cut the top and bottom of the grapefruit to keep it from rolling around and then sliced it in half. In retrospect, you can just stick them in a muffin tin, or use a couple ramekins.

Cut a bit off the top and bottom to keep it from rolling around

Next, I cut around between the pulp and the peel.  If it looks like I butchered the poor fruit, it’s because for some reason these grapefruit were really dry. Which I feel really adversely affected the outcome.

Cut around the outside edge.

Since I had two halves, I decided to try two different sweeteners.  On the far one, I used brown sugar. On the near one, agave nectar.

Brown sugar on one, agave nectar on the other

Under the broiler they went.  It took a lot longer than I thought it would.  I think because the grapefruit were so lacking in juice, and the fact that I used relatively little sweetener. In the end, they really didn’t taste any different than regular grapefruit with sweetener, aside from the fact that these were warm.  In the future, I’ll skip the hassle!

Done. Meh.

This entry was posted in Pinterest Test and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

