The Waiting Game

I’ve gained some weight. I’m not happy about it. It took me awhile to figure out why.  Near as I can tell, it’s because I don’t have a dog anymore. As an aside, I’m still heartbroken over it.  And if I’m truly honest with myself, it’s not because of Bentley’s untimely passing, either, although the funk I was in over that probably didn’t help at all.

At any rate, here’s the deal. I was living with my mom, I had a dog who really liked to bark. The barking annoyed the hell out of us. One way to curb the amount of barking was to make sure he got plenty of exercise. So I’d started running with him. Every. Day.  It wasn’t very far (although he could keep up with me for up to 4 miles!) but it was something. And it was every day.

And then I moved, and the week after I moved, my dog died. Now, my mom had planned to keep Bentley at least through the summer/fall since she liked having the company and didn’t mind having to walk him lots when the weather was nice, so even if he hadn’t gotten hit by a car, I probably still wouldn’t have been getting my running in, since I didn’t really have an excuse. For awhile there I was doing the Zombies! Run! thing, but somehow, that fizzled.  Even then, it was only running a couple times a week.

And so, I’ve gained weight. Many of my pants barely fit. And this is horrible, because I hate shopping, so I really don’t want to have to go out and get new pants.  I’m trying to get motivated enough to get back into running, but in the meantime, diet is 80% of the equation, so I figured I’d start there.  Thing is, I already eat pretty well.  I have one cheat day a week where I go nuts, but the rest of the week, no starchy carbs and very limited sugar. I’d read about intermittent fasting recently, and due to laziness keeping my boyfriend and I from making our egg muffins for the week, I figured it was the right time to give it a try.  So I would be skipping breakfast, and not eating anything until lunch time.

Me. Except every day, not just Mondays.

Most of the anecdotal evidence I’ve uncovered on this subject shows that people who switch to eating in an intermittent fashion really like it and they see great results.  Me? Not so much. But I don’t know how long I should wait to see those results either.  I don’t want to be one of those people who bounces around from thing to thing because I don’t see any changes by the next morning and thus never gets anywhere, but I don’t want to waste time on something that isn’t going to work for me either.  I’m thinking about going back to the Slow Carb diet; I was feeling and looking my best back then.

So the question remains: how long do I wait before making sure my current eating habits truly are not working for me?  I’ve been at it for at least a month so far, probably more like two. Do I wait longer to see if some change will happen?

This entry was posted in Fitness, Health and Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Waiting Game

  1. Chelsea Nix says:

    Waited long enough. Try replacing 2 meals with protein shakes. Then your 1 meal of 500 calories…

Leave a Reply

