Avocado Chocolate Pudding

So in the quest to eat healthy, yet at the same time still have dessert, I went looking for “paleo” desserts. Newsflash: just cause it’s paleo, doesn’t mean that it’s necessarily health food. Agave nectar might be all the rage, but it’s still essentially just sugar. But I still want dessert, and honestly, I’m far too good at lying to myself about such things. Disclaimer out of the way…

Here’s another recipe I found on Pinterest that I thought I’d try.  The avocado makes this pudding incredibly smooth, and it’s a marvelous texture! And it does not taste like avocado AT ALL. Also, super easy recipe! Let’s give it a go, shall we?

Gather the necessary stuff: 2 avocados, 1/3 cup cocoa powder (I probably used more cause, chocolate), 1/2 cup of milk (I used almond milk, substitute whichever kind you like best, but I would suggest using unsweetened, and unflavored), 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, and then sweetener of choice (I used Splenda, in this instance)

Pit and peel the avocados, chop them up and throw them into a food processor. Add the cocoa and vanilla.

Now add some sweetener, and blend it all up. Start slow with the sweet, you can always add more! Give it a taste, and add more sweetener if needed.  Voilá! That’s all there is to it! Super creamy delicious and reasonably healthy chocolate pudding!

Ok, more disclaimers: The only thing I haven’t quite nailed down about this recipe is the sweetening of it.  I tried Splenda, but that doesn’t quite work. Despite always using Splenda in my tea and coffee, when I used it in this recipe, I could really taste the artificiality of it.  I have yet to try agave nectar. But I fear that in order to actually taste like real pudding, you might have to break down and use real sugar, alas.

This entry was posted in Pinterest Test. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

