Nutrition Challenge Results

So a bit ago, I signed up for a challenge at the gym. Everyone paid in, and the winners split the pot. Winners were determined by a combination of weight/body fat/inches lost.

I failed. Miserably. Sorta.

On the one hand, I didn’t lose any weight. But I did lose quite a bit of body fat! Inches pretty much stayed the same overall.

Weight Start Finish Difference
169.4 170.1 +0.7
Pinch Points Start  Finish Difference
Pec 15 12  -3
Subscapular 19 15  -4
Bicep 12 9  -3
Tricep 31 22  -9
Kidney 37 24  -13
Suprailiac 17 17  0
Abdominal 23 15  -8
Quadricep 34 15  -19
Medial Calf 24 24  0
Total: 212 153  -59
Measurements Start Finish  Difference
Bicep 12.3 12.5 +0.2
Waist 34.3 33.1 -1.2
Hips 43.6 43.9 +0.3
Thigh 23 23.7 +0.7
Calf 16.5 16.5 0
Body fat % 0.337898465171192 0.242857142857143
33.7% 24.2% -9.5%

But it was tough. Nutrition is not a one-size-fits-all equation. I eat pretty well. I don’t drink sodas or lots of alcohol. I eat “real” food. I don’t eat much in the way of starchy carbs or sugar. With the exception of Saturdays, which is “cheat” day. But despite that, I haven’t been seeing much in the way of change, and in fact, trying on some clothes I hadn’t worn in a while made me cringe when I couldn’t get them on.

So I went back to something that had worked for me in the past: counting calories. I know that counting calories isn’t sexy, but it seems to be the only thing that works for me. I can already see an enormous change in my face; my cheekbones are starting to emerge again. My abs are also once again becoming visible.

It’s hard. Counting calories is such a pain. Especially when you’re not eating packaged foods with a convenient label that conveniently tells you exactly how many calories are in a serving. And it seems such slow going. You see these people who switch to a Paleo diet, and they’re all “I lost 20lbs the first month!” I haven’t lost any weight. In fact, I’ve gained some. But then, my lifts have all gotten much stronger, so I’ve definitely gained some muscle. I still have a long way to go, however. It’s warming up here, and I’m realizing that I don’t fit into any of my shorts or capris!

You have to go with what works. Try a system. Give it a couple months for any results to become apparent. If there isn’t any change, try something new!

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

