Double the Upgrades, Double the Stress

So quite a bit has happened!  Upgraded two areas of my life recently: my job, and my living situation!

First, the living situation. The boyfriend got an amazing job offer in Connecticut, so we moved to the East Coast! Not only that, but we made that purchase of all purchases and bought a house.  He had owned a house once previously, but this was a first for me. Not sure how much I really like being a homeowner; all that responsibility. Much easier when you rent and someone else has to take care of all the problems. Like when we tried to use our oven for the first time; we couldn’t get it to turn on. The stovetop worked, but not the oven. Turns out the controller board had gone bad, and that model had been discontinued, so we couldn’t get a replacement part. Which led to another upgrade: new stove!

Our lovely new home!

That said, the house is very nice, and bonus upgrade: came with a hot tub! (Which we really don’t use as much as we should)

Kick-ass deck, nice-sized yard, and hot tub!

Next upgrade: new job! After moving out here, I contacted a few companies, and it wasn’t long before I got a couple offers and I ended up accepting one that pays 33% more than I was making before! HUGE upgrade! It’s a smaller company, but the people there are really awesome. And interestingly, I’m working on the sales side of the house doing software demos, which is completely new territory for me, but I’m really enjoying it so far! The only downside is the commute; I drive nearly 60 miles every day. Luckily, for the most part it is against the flow of traffic, so I don’t spend *too* much time in road rage mode. Still, that might necessitate upgrading my car to something far more fuel efficient sooner than I would have liked.

I do love my car, but a nearly 10-year old SUV is not the most fuel efficient of rides.

So while the upgrades have been awesome, it has led to quite a bit of stress. As stated previously, owning a home beings being all responsible and having to adult. That’s no fun. With all the bad weather we’ve been having, it sucks to have to get up extra early to shovel the driveway so that you can get to work. Especially when you spent two hours shoveling it the night before.

Also, a new job with new responsibilities is also stressful. I’m starting to get comfortable with doing the demos, but there is still a lot I have to learn, and while the company is giving me all the support I need, they need me to be doing this pronto, so I’m getting thrown into the deep end. (Which is how I learned to swim, so I figure I’ll manage!)

just a wee bit stressed

This entry was posted in Be Happy, Don't Ignore Your Dreams and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

